Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace, About Anything [Closet Millionaire]

Million Dollar Bill

Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace, About Anything [Closet Millionaire]

By, Donna M. Monnig

Poetry really can be about anything, even when that thing is a lie. Continuing with the NaPoWriMo challenge, I give you my poem based on lies, “Closet Millionaire.”

Money

Closet Millionaire
 
I’m a closet millionaire. People
              they don’t believe me
when I tell them this.
A closet millionaire, I say.
              Still, they don’t believe.
I guess that’s because they
don’t know, and I don’t tell,
              how it all happened.
 
But I will tell you. Just this once
              my secret I will share.
You see, once upon a time
I won the lottery. Not a million
              but a lot of money.
More money than I’d ever had,
but not enough, never enough.
              I wanted more.
 
I was sitting in my vehicle,
              waiting outside a bank.
I was nearly ready to go inside,
until I saw the masked man –
              not the Lone Ranger.
This man had a gun but not
silver bullets, lots of friends,
               horsepower instead of horses.
 
The Lone Ranger wouldn’t
              rob a bank either.
He’d stop it though; him and Tonto.
But they don’t exist, they’re fiction.
              But I exist.
I could stop them. Then I’d be
the hero. Probably get a reward too.
              So, I followed them.
 
I tailed them back to their hideout –
              not a canyon –
some old depleted warehouse.
I walked in, hoodie over my head.
              Counting the loot, they
didn’t see me. I picked up one of their
guns. The Glock felt fine in my hand.
              This is a hold up.
 
They reached for the sky.
              I called the cops.
The money was returned. I
got a reward – but not much.
              Not enough, never enough.
Turns out being Robin Hoodie isn’t
as much fun as it is being the
              Sheriff of Nottingham.
 
I gave it time – an hour or so –
              I was adequately patient.
Before I decided that I could
be rich too. But I would not
              rob a bank.
Not enough challenge after
stopping bank robbers. So, instead
              I robbed Fort Knox.
 
I’d tell you how, but then
              I’d have to kill you.
And I’m a robber, not a
killer. I’m also, I swear,
              a closet millionaire.
Just like Bruce Wayne was
actually Batman. This poem,
             is ALL true.
 
© Donna M. Monnig
 
NaPoWriMo: Two for the Show (prompt – a poem based on lies)

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2013, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace, About Anything [Closet Millionaire]

  1. PrayImagineCreate says:

    Haha!! This is great! I love the White Collar reference too.

    Like

  2. booklover says:

    Closet Millionaire! I love it! So much fun (and I don’t even like free verse or open verse or whatever it’s called), but this is really fun. It’s interesting, and I love how you brought in the Lone Ranger (and Tonto), Robin Hood, and Batman. A poem full of lies, nice!

    Like

    • So glad you like it! To be perfectly honest, I’m not a huge fan of free verse either. I don’t have anything against it, I just happen to prefer something with a little rhyme and rhythm to it. (Not that you could tell, what with the name of my blog being Rhyme N Review.)
      This poem was a lot of fun to write: when else am I going to get to be a millionaire, a hero, and a bad guy? And at the same time too!
      Thanks for reading and commenting.
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

What are your thoughts on this?

