The Whispering Watcher [Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace...]

Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace, About Anything – The Whispering Watcher

By, Donna M. Monnig

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem inspired by noir. So, my poem for Day Nine is “The Whispering Watcher.”

Noir

The Whispering Watcher
 
The detective wrote down names,
            suspects in his little spiral notebook,
He didn’t know I was watching,
            he didn’t know that he had been took.
 
Those names were worthless,
            they wouldn’t help him with the case,
But he didn’t know that, he didn’t
            know he’d already seen the killers face.
 
He handed the killer his card,
            “I’ll find whoever did this,” he said,
I could have told him, he was
            looking at him, but I was already dead.
 
The detective walked away, disappearing
            down the blackened, smog-filled alleyway,
The killers eyes returned to cold, granite
            orbs, he smirked as he knew he had got away.
 
Like the detective, the killer, didn’t know
            that I was there, watching, waiting, listening,
As he stood admiring his artwork;
            the concrete canvas with my blood glistening.
 
 The killer didn’t know that his fate
            was sealed, that he’d never be alone,
He didn’t know that I would haunt
            him, until his secret became known.
 
I would be his own personal tell-tale heart,
            his own never-ending nightmare without flesh,
He didn’t know he’d one day be diagnosed
            with schizophrenia, that they blamed on stress.
 
No one believed him when he claimed to be
             haunted, they don’t believe in ghosts you see,
No one can see me in his padded room,
            whispering, “You never should’ve murdered me.” 
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 
NaPoWriMo prompt: Noir for the Ninth
About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2013, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Whispering Watcher [Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace...]

  1. PrayImagineCreate says:

    Ooh, creepy! But I like it. (For some reason it makes me think of Thriller)

    Like

    • Glad you like it! I wasn’t thinking of Thriller when I wrote it, but I can see a connection. I thought it was interesting that the NaPoWriMo challenge was to write a poem based on noir, all things considered.
      Thanks & God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

      • PrayImagineCreate says:

        I think the only reason is because I’ve kind of got Thriller on the brain right now. Anything remotely creepy would make me think of it, haha!

        Like

What are your thoughts on this?

