Behind Blue-Green Eyes [Poetry: Anytime…]

Poetry: Anytime, Anyplace, About Anything – Behind Blue-Green Eyes

By, Donna M. Monnig

Thanks to Kathi for letting me use her picture.

Thanks to Kathi for letting me use her picture. [Click here]


Behind Blue-Green Eyes
 
The sapphire sky above me sparkles;
stars suspended like precious stones in a cave.
Shining down on a land of charcoal;
dirt that will one day be my grave.
 
Thoughts of death depress so many,
but downhearted about it is not for me.
For, of cares and worries there won’t be any,
as my cerulean soul sails the azure sea.
 
But for now I stand in the navy of night,
thoughts a whirl in my blue-grey brain.
In my aquamarine notebook, words I write,
creating a poem, linking words in a chain.
 
A teal necklace rests beneath my chin,
and I wonder who owned it before me.
I write such wonderings with an indigo pen:
does the  previous owner sail the cobalt sea?
 
In the morning the sky will be a powdery blue,
from turquoise sheets tomorrow I’ll rise.
What the meaning is, I haven’t a clue,
these are just thoughts behind blue-green eyes.
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a poem using all the synonyms and words you could associate with your favorite color.
 
NaPoWriMo prompt: Day 28
About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2013, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Behind Blue-Green Eyes [Poetry: Anytime…]

  1. Kathi says:

    Love your thoughts and images…all swirling around blues! Lovely.

    Like

    • Thank you! There are so many wonderful shades to blue, I love the color and all of the words associated with it. Thanks again for letting me use your pictures!
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

      • Kathi says:

        Any time! I love blue too! Did I tell you that we have a grandson (just a year old) named “Judah Cerulean”? We call him “Judah Blue!”

        Like

What are your thoughts on this?

