My Un-Life (NaPoWriMo Day 13)

Picture By Peter van der Sluijs (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Picture By Peter van der Sluijs (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

My Un-Life
By Donna M. Monnig
 
I look out upon the whale road
imagining it’s floor below,
A graveyard of wooden whales,
hidden beneath the sky candle’s glow.
 
In my hands I hold paper memory,
it will outlast my house of bones,
Un-dead am I for now in this candle mark,
but soon, it will be to the house of stones.
 
The candle marks are all too few
that we have to be un-dead,
I wonder if, when I’m un-live,
anyone will remember anything I’ve said?
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 

I wrote this for Day 13 of NaPoWriMo, but like the last one, I was having computer difficulties and was unable to get it posted. Today’s prompt was to write a poem using kenning which was used in Nordic sagas. An example of a kenning is saying the ‘whale road’ instead of the ‘sea’, or the ‘house of bones’ instead of a ‘body’. I have always enjoyed reading and writing kennings, it’s a lot of fun seeing how you can describe something using completely different descriptions but yet makes logical sense.

 

 

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2014, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Un-Life (NaPoWriMo Day 13)

  1. PrayImagineCreate says:

    I love this! The idea is really neat. I may have to look up some Nordic sagas…
    One thing though, I understood everything be the “Candle mark” What is that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!!! Nordic sagas can be awesome! I used the term candle mark to refer to time, because in some old and ancient cultures they would put marks on candles to judge how much time had passed based on the number of marks that had melted.
      Glad you liked it!

      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

What are your thoughts on this?

