April’s Child

   I knew April was National Poetry Month, but I was unaware that it was also Child Abuse Awareness Month until I read ~L’s Untitled Moments post Let’s Paint April Blue.

   So this poem is my attempt at contributing to this sad yet necessary cause.                             

Picture ©2008

                            April’s Child

Hello, my name is April, but I am really sad,                                                                   Because something that I did, made mommy & daddy mad. 

Why else would they hit me, or say the things they say?                                            It seems no matter what I do, I’m always in the way. 

I try hard to be good, but I guess I always fail,                                                               If I am so bad, maybe I should be sent to jail.

Maybe then mommy & daddy would be happy, if I wasn’t here,                             Maybe mommy wouldn’t take those pills, or daddy drink that beer.

But I’m not in jail, I’m still inside of this house,                                                               Hiding underneath my bed, quiet as any mouse.

Outside my room I hear the yelling, and shattering of glass,                           And as the footsteps near my door, I pray that they will pass.

And give me just one night of peace, without a bruise or broken bone,                 If they dislike children so much, why did they have one of their own?

Outside my window a shooting star streaks across the sky,                                 And the only wish I make, is to understand Why?

Why do my parents hate me, why am I so bad?                                                              Why do I always seem to only make them mad?

Why can’t I be loved or have toys of my own?                                                               Why don’t I have a family that makes a house a home?

©Donna M. Monnig

   Once I started writing the poem I couldn’t stop with just one, so if you’re interested in reading more be sure to stay tuned.

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, My Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April’s Child

  1. ~L says:

    Touched deep within my soul! LOVE IT! Can I re post it for you on my blog? Very very nice!!!! I can’t wait to read more:)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Amazing Music Video: “Concrete Angel” – Martina McBride | Rhyme N Review

What are your thoughts on this?

