Motivation Through Quotation

   Anyone who has seen my book, Echoes of Time: A Collection of Rhyme, (co-authored with my wonderful mother Mildred L. Monnig) could make an educated guess that I have an insatiable thirst for good, meaningful quotes.

   One of my earliest memories, and I’m talking three or four years old here, is of a magnet on our fridge that simply said: “If you think you can, you can!” That saying was permanently etched in my memory and resounds in my heart to this day. I firmly believe it has influenced, at least to some extent, every aspect of my life up to now and continues to do so.

   Growing up, when my dreams and ideas were met with negativity and people would say something like, “That’s impossible.” or “You can’t do that.”, I would remember the magnet on the fridge that said, “If you think you can, you can!” and be all the more determined to succeed and prove the naysayers wrong.

   When I keep that saying in mind, the word, impossible, has no place in my vocabulary.

   So, now you’re thinking, “Okay…that’s nice.” all the while wondering why I’m subjecting you to this boring little anecdote from my childhood. All I can ask is that you bear with me, there’s a method to my madness. (At least that’s what I tell myself!)

   The answer is: Motivation Through Quotation. It’s a sort of column I’m creating for Rhyme N Review. Why? Because quotes can impact our daily lives. They can motivate us, make us see things in a different light, bring a smile to our face, or succinctly sum up a point we want to make to someone.

   Regardless of our reasons or reactions, quotes are generally eye-catching and memorable. And as evidenced by that brief tale of my childhood that I subjected you to, some quotes can stay with you for a lifetime.

So, here is a limerick just for you                                                                                                 To remember in everything you do,                                                                                              If you think you can, you can!                                                                                                   Now repeat it again and again,                                                                                                         And then you’ll know it’s true!

©Donna M. Monnig

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in Motivation Through Quotation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts on this?

