MTQ: Swimming With Ships

Motivation Through Quotation: Swimming With Ships

By, Donna M. Monnig

We’re all waiting it seems. Most likely for the same thing. Everyone’s waiting for that fateful moment when everything comes together, when all our hopes and dreams, everything we’ve worked so long for, finally becomes a reality. In short, we’re waiting for our ships to come in.

But in truth, our ships rarely come in, at least not of their own accord. After all, a ship needs a good captain before it can make it to port and ships don’t always have good captains, so what are we supposed to do?

Have no fear, there is a solution to every problem if we look hard enough to find it. The solution here is quite simple (Please note that I said simple, not easy. There is a difference). Jonathan Winters sums up the solution very nicely:

“If your ship doesn’t come in, swim out to it.”

Once you swim out to your ship the battle will nearly be won. You can then become the captain of your ship and who better to steer it to shore than you?

I’ll leave you with a poem I wrote that was inspired by this quote and was previously published in, “Echoes of Time: A Collection of Rhyme”.

Swim Out to It!

I’m standing on this shore line

 looking out to sea,

I see my ship so close

but it can’t come to me.

 ~~~

In those choppy waters

many uncertain dangers wait,

And to many larger fishes

I’ll probably look like bait.

~~~

Oh in that raging Ocean

I’m sure there’s sharks and more,

Waiting for me to step a foot

upon that Ocean’s floor.

 ~~~

But my ship won’t wait forever

and no closer will it get,

I’ll give this Ocean a fooling

if it thinks that I will quit.

 ~~~

So I’ll plunge into these waters

and risk the feared unknown,

And though others may desert me

with the Lord I’m not alone.

 ~~~

While lightning strikes above

and waves try to pull me under,

I’ll push on straight ahead

regardless of the thunder.

 ~~~

You see my ship is waiting,

it’s crew is testing me,

If I want my dreams bad enough

to swim this raging sea.

 –Donna M. Monnig

Picture used with kind permission by Kathi. Click here to view more from her post.

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in Motivation Through Quotation, My Poems, Poetry, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MTQ: Swimming With Ships

  1. booklover says:

    Very nice post! Beautiful pictures as always! The poem was very inspirational, my mother loved it. I’m still waiting for my ship too! I’m not sure I’m ready to try swimming it just yet though, those sharks sound scary!!!!

    Like

    • I know, those sharks are someting else, I’m a little scared of them too! I’m so glad that you and your mother liked my poem and post, thanks for letting me know. Good luck on finding your ship!
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

  2. Kathi says:

    I love your imagery of needing to swim through raging, dangerous waters to fulfill our dreams, because they certainly don’t just come to us! I also love your reminder that God is with us through the storms. It seems like I’ve been swimming toward my ship for years, and I feel like Jesus is the ring buoy keeping me afloat! Thanks for the encouragement to keep on keepin’ on!

    Like

    • Thanks Kathi!
      I’m really glad you like my poem. I have faith that you’ll reach your ship, until then we’ll just have to keep swimming! So long as we have God I’m certain we’ll do fine in time.
      Thanks again!
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

What are your thoughts on this?

