Modern Knight

Medieval Knight  hidden hare art studio

Modern Knight

Poem by Donna M. Monnig

This poem was originally published in Echoes of Time: A Collection of Rhyme (co-authored by me and my mother Mildred L. Monnig). It was recently re-printed in the March 2013 issue of The Greyhound Express.

Modern Knight

A Knight in shining armor came to rescue me,

But he did insist that first I pay a finders fee.

Well next I did tell him that I had me no money,

And that’s when he said that he didn’t rescue for free.

~~~

We discussed it for a while until he said to me,

You wear a pretty necklace, a necklace fair to see.

I will take your necklace, I will take it as my fee,

Give me now your necklace so I may rescue thee.

~~~

So I took my necklace and gave it then to he,

Then he took my arm and said come my good lady.

We nearly reached his horse tied there at the tree,

When a gust of flaming fire came at us suddenly.

~~~

It was the angry dragon, he had come after we,

For he wouldn’t let a knight dare to rescue me.

The knight stood rigid, yes rigid there stood he,

And said dragons were not covered in the original fee.

~~~

I’m so sorry to you my dear good lady,

How sorry am I, but you must see,

That I’m not paid to risk my life for thee,

An with that my brave knight did flee.

~~~

He ran there to his horse, his horse there at the tree,

He mounted on his horse still holding my jewelry.

With wide eyes he waved, “Farewell, farewell,” said he,

He rode off on his horse and left the dragon to me.

©Donna M. Monnig

Note: If you like the idea of medieval, fantasy, or fairy tale (and fractured fairy tale) poetry, be sure to check back soon (or subscribe to this blog) for an important announcement about an upcoming book.

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in Fairy Tales, Medieval/Fantasy, My Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Modern Knight

  1. booklover says:

    So cute! Very funny, I love how anti-chivalrous this poem is! Sounds just like a real knight to me, especially a modern one!!! I love the idea of medieval/fantasy/fairy tale poetry so I’m looking forward to seeing this mysterious announcement. Any hints???????
    Thanks for posting!

    Like

    • So glad you like the poem, thanks for taking the time to let me know.
      Chivalry isn’t all it’s cracked up to be!
      Wish I could give you some hints, but that would ruin the surprise!
      Thanks & God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

  2. PrayImagineCreate says:

    Donna, I think this may be one of my favorite poems ever!!

    Like

What are your thoughts on this?

