The Tale of the Silly Mouse

This poem was written by my mother Mildred L. Monnig, and published in our co-authored book Echoes of Time: A Collection of Rhyme. I am posting it here as part of celebrating National Poetry Month, because poetry can be for kids too (as well as the child at heart!). April is also Child Abuse Awareness Month, hopefully this poem might put a smile on some small face.

mouse

 
The Tale of the Silly Mouse
 
There is a mouse that’s in our house, I think he’s come to stay,
For even when the cat comes in, we can’t chase him away.
 
And so to try to catch him, I baited and set a trap,
He laid right down beside it and there he took a nap.
 
I put some poison out and said, ‘I’ll get that little critter.’
But instead of eating it, he just scared the baby-sitter.
 
I guess we’re stuck with him cause he’s not going to go,
So I turned the TV on so he could watch a show.
 
He said, ‘Tom and Jerry is the one I want to see.’
Cause in that show, the mouse always gets away scot-free.
 
So we told him we would keep him, if he’d just follow every rule,
The next day I put him on the bus and sent him off to school.
 
The teacher didn’t like him much, so she threw him out back,
And there he found a building, the one they called the shack.
 
But inside this little building, lived two big, furry, old gray cats,
The cats said, ‘Come in we won’t harm you, cause we only eat rats.’
 
So they became best friends, the cats and the mouse,
And they all live together in their cozy little house.
 
©Mildred L. Monnig
About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, Other Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tale of the Silly Mouse

  1. booklover says:

    OOOH! How cute!!! I love it. The picture and the poem are adorable!

    Like

  2. PrayImagineCreate says:

    This is so cute!! I’m going to have to show this to my little brothers and sisters.

    Like

    • So glad you enjoyed it! What can I say, my mother has a way with mice. Hope your little brothers and sisters enjoy “The Tale of the Silly Mouse” as well. Thanks for sharing it!
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

What are your thoughts on this?

