Fine is a Four Letter Word

balance scale
Fine is a Four Letter Word
By, Donna M. Monnig
 
‘Hello.’ ‘I’m fine.’ That’s what you say,
When people ask how you are.
Even on the most rotten day,
When ‘fine’ is away so very far.
 
It’s proper etiquette and manners, too;
To smile and say we’re ‘fine.’
Because everyone has so much to do,
No one wants to hear us whine.
 
The truth may well be in opposition,
The meaning of ‘fine’ is often blurred.
That it’s good is our supposition,
But remember: ‘Fine’ is a four letter word!
 
Poem copyright ©2013 Donna M. Monnig
About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fine is a Four Letter Word

  1. Vince Smith says:

    Hey hows it going? Was looking through some of your poetry and I really like it. Especially Fine is a four letter word. I was wondering if you’d be willing to let us post or if you would want to submit some writing onto the website me and a friend are working on. Its going to be a site dedicated to exposing artistic expression in any form. We also have a like to forums which are already up and running. We plan on doing contests once we get a decent following. We are still in the design stages but it should be complete by the end of the month. If your interested let me know. ~Vince~

    Like

    • Hey, it’s good to hear from you! This reminds me that I never posted your poem “Daydream” like I intended to a long time ago! If it’s still okay with you I’ll go ahead and put it on here one of these first days. As for posting on here, I don’t really let anyone else post directly on my site, but if you or a friend have something that you think would be a good fit, I’m always willing to consider posting it. As for your website, it sounds like it’s going to be nice, I’d be interested submitting to it, please let me know when you have it up so I can check it out.
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

  2. Vince Smith says:

    Sorry to bug but I was also wondering if you would mind us put a link to your site under our resources page once we complete all the design work. I really like your work and would love to share it with anyone we can get on our community. Should be about a week or two and we will be launching the site full force… Gonna media whore it up to try and get people on the forums. The forums are already up but we have no content on the home sight or design work finalized for it yet. We are pretty much just waiting on the proofreading/editing of our welcome article and the inserts for the rest of the pages so yeah, a couple tweaks on the layout and well be good.That and I need to hook it to a PayPal. Going to be travelling to the desert soon in Southern California. A place called Slab City where people go to live off the grid and away from society. Kind of like a tent city. It’s going to be amazing. Staying in the Slabs until June or July, whenever the dogs have decided they’ve had enough of the heat lol, and then we will be heading up towards death valley to go climb some small mountains. Then back over through Redwood country…. OMG I’m excited!! I’ll finally have something to write about besides this boring time :). We’ll have to stop around Oregon or Northern Cali to get jobs so we can eventually make our way all the way to Alaska. Where I can run Mora, (Darko’s baby girl), with a real pack of sled dogs so I can teach her the right way. Then when I cant deal with that cold weather anymore I’ll breed her and I’ll have a whole pack to ride back home. Already working up a design for a chariot style wagon for her to carry rocks and firewood/cactus back in. I’ve had her pulling around a 20lb log for 2 weeks now. She loves it. She’ll definately be able to lead the pack by then if I keep up her exercise. Il just mount a bucket inside the very back…. Husky drawn chariot…. Most epic vehicle ever. All I need now is a crossbow lol.

    Anyways let me know if your interested in trading links or if you have a problem with me linking Rhyme N Review under our resources page. Like I said it should be done in the next week. I sure hope so cause I leave for Cali on the 1st.

    On Sun, Feb 9, 2014 at 3:33 PM, Vince Smith wrote:

    > Hey hows it going? Was looking through some of your poetry and I really > like it. Especially Fine is a four letter word. I was wondering if you’d be > willing to let us post or if you would want to submit some writing onto the > website me and a friend are working on. Its going to be a site dedicated to > exposing artistic expression in any form. We also have a like to forums > which are already up and running. We plan on doing contests once we get a > decent following. We are still in the design stages but it should be > complete by the end of the month. If your interested let me know. ~Vince~ > > > On Fri, Feb 7, 2014 at 10:09 PM, Rhyme N Review <

    Like

    • Wow, sounds like you’re really headed for quite an adventure! You’ll have to keep me posted on your trip whenever you have a chance, it sounds awesome! I didn’t realize you were so involved with Husky’s and sledding; when I was a kid we raised Husky’s and Alaskan Malamute’s, they’re such great animals. I wish you the best of luck!

      As for linking Rhyme N Review to your resources page: Go ahead, I’d be happy for you to! I’m glad you like my site well enough to do so. Also, if you’re still okay with me posting your poem ‘Daydream’ on here, I can post it as soon as you launch your site and add a link to it in the post. Just let me know (a) if that’s okay, and (b) when you launch and the link to get there.

      I’m very excited for you!

      God Bless,
      Donna
      P.S. That Husky drawn chariot sounds pretty awesome! You’ll have to send me pictures when it’s complete.

      Like

What are your thoughts on this?

