The Man I Didn’t Meet (NaPoWriMo Day 5)

800px-ESB_Elevators wikimedia commons photo by Fletcher 6
 
The Man I Didn’t Meet
By, Donna M. Monnig
 
Once there was a little man. As
often there is in stories such as I,
but it’s hard to remember just who he was
for I met him one day while walking.
The elevator was going up
I had to hurry to get in the
thing. Or else it would be the stair.
 
However, into the elevator made I
and that is where I say I met
but first let me tell you a
bit about this most unusual man:
I had no way of knowing who
he was, or just who he wasn’t,
but I tell you he was there.
 
I don’t know how it is that he
came to be who he wasn’t,
but that is neither here nor there,
and so I tell you again
that I met this man today.
 
It is not as if I had such plans. I
had no such dream or wish.
It can’t be helped, who meets I
if only I had such a wish!
For then it would be different and he’d
have no choice but to stay
but he will not, he left far, far away.
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 

 Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge was to write a poem in the style of the Golden Shovel. Basically, you write a poem in which the last word of each line is the word from another poem. So, when you read only the last word of each line of your own poem, you can read the other poem in its entirety. Therefore, if you read the last word of every line in my poem “The Man I Didn’t Meet” you will see that I chose to use the poem “The Little Man” by Hughes Mearns. Happy Writing everyone!

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2014, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Man I Didn’t Meet (NaPoWriMo Day 5)

  1. Pingback: The Cut-Throat Clubhouse Online

What are your thoughts on this?

