The Ones I Love (NaPoWriMo Day 7)

Cowgirl Boots
The Ones I Love
By Donna M. Monnig
 
It’s always said, when
push comes the shove,
That we hurt the most
the ones we love.
Knowing that is
nothing new,
I just never realized
it was true!
 
They take the brunt
when I go for a ride,
They have no one
to take their side.
I stab them with gravel,
I soak them in rain,
I treat them like objects,
I ignore their pain!
 
I walk all over the
ones that I love,
These boots of mine
that fit like a glove.
I wear them out
I wear them so often,
I’m sending my love
straight to the coffin!
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 

Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge was to write a love song to an inanimate object. As you can see, I’m passionate about my boots!

What inanimate objects do you love?

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2014, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ones I Love (NaPoWriMo Day 7)

  1. Pingback: NaWriPoMo: (Foolish) Inanimate Love | The Black Tortoise: Wisdom Born with Age

  2. Pingback: Weapons Of Ignorance (NaPoWriMo Day 24) | Stories in 5 Minutes

What are your thoughts on this?