NaPoWriMo 2015: Outlasting the Future

Books

Outlasting the Future

Electronic it is not,
Nor shall it ever be,
From plug-ins, batteries, cords,
This thing is always free.
 
Lightning affects it not,
Nor electromagnetic attack.
It will not be un-useful,
Should power and light go black.
 
It will not die young,
For generations it will last.
Electrons may be the future,
but only books survive into the past.
 
©Donna M. Monnig
  

It’s that time again, 30 poems in 30 days! Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge was to write a poem of negation. This is mine, what’s yours?

 

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2015, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NaPoWriMo 2015: Outlasting the Future

  1. CC Champagne says:

    What perfect subject matter! Happy NaPoWriMo, and hope to see you again during the month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PrayImagineCreate says:

    Oh, happy day!!! I always get excited when you start posting, Donna. No pressure, but I WILL look forward to your new daily poem every day for the next month. 🙂
    God Bless,
    You Know Who

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right, no pressure, none at all! I shall do my best not to disappoint my most loyal reader.
      I’m so glad someone looks forward to me foisting my poetry onto the world …
      Thanks for your awesome, non-pressuring encouragement!
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

  3. Leonas Lines says:

    Loved it! I agree—books are keepers! (a fellow NaPoWriMo participant)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “A Road Ravaged By Thoughts” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

What are your thoughts on this?

