NaPoWriMo 2015: Monday Blunderland

Windup_mpalarm_clock

Monday Blunderland

As I awoke to the sound of my alarm,
I look at my clock – and scream!
Now, I’ve never been taken in by morning’s charm,
I much prefer night with perchance to dream.
 
But on this morning, on this date,
As I stare, digital numbers glaring at me.
I realize that I’m late, I’m late,
With no time even for a cup of Irish tea.
 
My clock it seems jumped out of hand,
As out of bed jumped me, myself, and I.
I felt like I’d entered into Blunderland,
My clock was an hour long with no reason why.
 
As I rushed through my broken daybreak,
I knew I’d be late to work, there was no other way,
I questioned how my clock could forsake,
When suddenly, it was explained in a word – Monday!
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write an aubade, which is essentially a morning poem dealing with dawn and/or daybreak. Also, the prompt suggested making it into a Monday poem seeing as it’s Monday. (This is a mostly true story by the way!) What’s your best (or worst) Monday story?
About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2015, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NaPoWriMo 2015: Monday Blunderland

  1. PrayImagineCreate says:

    I hate it when that happens! My Monday last week happened on a Wednesday. Donna, you’ve inspired me to be poetic about it myself (which is good because I need a poem for class tomorrow anyway). So, here’s my Monday-on-a-Wednesday poem:

    Wednesday morning dawned beautifully bright.
    I wakened with a smile.
    But my brain knew something was terribly wrong…
    I pondered it a while.

    Realization dawned terribly bright:
    My paper, it was due
    Not at the hour when I’d awoken
    But the hour before. I knew

    This teacher was ever so strict
    “Get it in on time!”
    I raced out the door at top speed
    Not e’en stopping to dine.

    I skidded into the library lab,
    I still had to print it!
    I ran it out, tapping my feet,
    Then up the stairs I sprinted.

    I stood panting outside her office,
    Worried about my paper.
    I hadn’t had time to edit it…!
    (I always do that later).

    I shrugged my shoulders, shook my head
    Time for that was gone.
    My cotton-mouth improving,
    I went in without a plan.

    Handing in my paper late
    Was very hard to do.
    I made my excuses, apologized,
    And waited, my face all gloom.

    By some unforeseen miracle,
    (And I’m pretty sure she giggled)
    She accepted my paper, penalty-free!
    I never would have figured!

    Leaving the office, light and free
    My hands shaking like leaves
    From running? Excitement? Not eating? Who knows?
    But right then, I needed a drink…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love it! I’m so glad that I could be part of the inspiration for such a great poem … and it counts for homework too? Awesome! (And I can so relate to that last line right now … 🙂
      Thanks for sharing your poem! (It better get an A+ tomorrow.)

      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

  2. Leonas Lines says:

    Nice poem and I can actually relate, although not on Mondays, because I have Mondays off from work, so they are good for me and sometimes I actually sleep in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t you just hate it when that happens?? Great piece, I really enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2015: Thursday Triangle | Rhyme N Review

What are your thoughts on this?

