NaPoWriMo 2015: Wednesday Without Wealth

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Wednesday Without Wealth

Yesterday, I wrote that,
I was a trillionaire,
I was grinning like a cat,
with a Cheshire grin so rare!
 
But listen if you will,
as I tell of fickle fate,
For my trillion dollar bill,
it turns out it was fake!
 
So, I retract what I said,
goodbye happiness and health,
my finances are dead,
this Wednesday I’m without wealth!
 
©Donna M. Monnig
 
Trillion Dollar Bill
 
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a palinode – a poem in which you retract a statement made in an earlier poem. I don’t know if this was a true palinode, but it was fun to retract what I wrote in “Tuesday Trillionaire.”
 
About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig is a published poet, aspiring novelist, freelance writer, a member of the Society of Professional Journalists, and is a cowgirl at heart.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2015, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaPoWriMo 2015: Wednesday Without Wealth

  1. CC Champagne says:

    This made me laugh! Well written!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! Love it. I was going to tell you yesterday, as the proud owner of such a bill, that it was a fake but I didn;t want to disappoint you 😉 😛 Nice piece x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2015: Thursday Triangle | Rhyme N Review

What are your thoughts on this?

