If God Should Go On Strike

By, Donna M. Monnig

Have you ever noticed how often we human beings take things for granted? It’s so easy to get caught up in the rat-race that is life; to get frustrated when things don’t go our way; to be jealous or envious of others; to forget how much we truly have to be thankful for, and get angry when life isn’t fair. We’re all guilty of it at some point or another. However, while we’re busy being outraged with righteous indignation at the unfairness of it all, we never stop to think about someone who has been treated and neglected far worse than any of us, God. The following poem by, Walt Huntley, puts this into perspective.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If God Should Go On Strike
How good it is that God above
       has never gone on strike,
Because He was not treated fair
       in things He didn’t like.
If only once, He’d given up and
       said, “That’s it. I’m through.
I’ve had enough of those on Earth
       so this is what I’ll do:
I’ll give my orders to the sun
       cut off the heat supply!
And to the moon–give no more light,
        and run the oceans dry.
Then to make things really tough
        and put the pressure on,
Turn off all the vital oxygen till
         every breath is gone!”
You know He would be justified
        if fairness was the game,
For no one has been more abused
        or met with more disdain
Then God, and yet He carries on,
         supplying you and me
With all the favors of His grace,
          and everything for free.
Men say they want a better deal,
          and so on strike they go,
But what a deal we’ve given God
          to whom all things we owe.
We don’t care whom we hurt
to gain the things we like;
But what a mess we’d all be in
           if God should go on strike.
                        — Walt Huntley
                       

Scary thought isn’t it? What would we do if God wasn’t so patient with us? How often do we forget to thank Him for all of the gifts that He has bestowed upon us?

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig has published numerous books of poetry including Escaping Destiny, Thoughts on Exhibit, Keeper of the Dead, Take the Leap, and Echoes of Time, as well as the children's book Chasing Ghosts. View more of her work at www.dragonshieldpress.com, www.donnamonnig.com, and her author's page on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Other Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If God Should Go On Strike

  1. Kathi says:

    Great poem; great aspirations; great blog! I wish you every success! I am also an aspiring author, although I’ve written non-fiction books, like a commentary on the Song of Solomon and a book on infant care. Still trying to find an avenue for publishing, but wondering if perhaps my blog might work as a means of reaching out, since I’m not strapped for cash (at least, at the moment). God is good! It’s always wonderful to meet a sister who is also hard at work trying to spread God’s love!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your kind comments!
      I’m glad you like my blog, yours is great, too! I wish you the best of luck with your writing as well, it is so difficult to break into the publishing world. I think having a blog is a good way to work towards any writing goals, it gives people a taste of what you can do. I just wish I had more time to devote to mine!
      Thanks again!
      God Bless,
      Donna

      Like

      • Kathi says:

        After almost 40 years as a mom, and turning 62 this fall, I’m finally starting to have time! Do you have little ones still?

        Like

  2. booklover says:

    What an amazing poem! I love it!!!

    Like

  3. analie patricio says:

    I have read about this when I was in the seventh grade
    I never forgot about this poem
    God bless and more power! 😀

    Like

What are your thoughts on this?