What Hunts Me by Donna M. Monnig (NaPoWriMo)

What Hunts Me

It hunts me, my wasted, delayed life,
It hunts me, all that I’ve given up,
sacrificed, to be nice. Kind. Devoted.
Loyalty really isn’t worth much
in the end.
What is? The answers hunt me.
Life hunts me. Stress follows me
like a wretched shadow with claws
waiting to devour its prey – Me.
Hope, a dim withered husk growing
ever more distant, impossible to reach,
a taunting, hunting wisp in the wind.
Where could I be, had I not remained tied
to the choices of someone else?
The answers hunt me. The pain of
wasted years and wasted dreams
dog my steps like a seething wraith
out for blood – Mine. My soul aches
with burning sadness trapped within
the dark confines and cavernous cracks
of my ever more calloused heart.
Time, wasted on someone else’s dreams,
cannot be bought again. Yet, I still waste
it believing that one day, things will be
different. Better. Good.
Happiness is a false notion promoting
delusions that it can be attained.
A fleeting friend that comes so briefly
as to wonder if it had ever been there
at all, like a ghost, hunting the
very soul.
What is the point? The answer hunts me.
Rhyme and reason defenestrated out of
the window, indeed, if ever they existed
at all – Ours is not to reason why,
perhaps our fate is but to wither and die,
hunted until the end by endless possibilities
never realized despite the very best
of intentions.
It hurts to have dreams.
It hunts me, the road not traveled.
All the different paths just waiting to be
availed, all of the many ships, waiting
to be sailed. R.U.Me2?
It hunts me. The life I could have led,
the life I still could lead. The pain of
unrealized dreams, is intense. Letting
go of sunk costs is pricey and not
for the faint of heart.
Hope is not for the faint of heart.
Dreams are costly creatures that
cost us our lives, often with little to
show in the end.
Thoughts such as these hunt my
hypothalamus in the dim light of
evening on days when life intensely
demands more than we bargained for.
They hunt me. What hunts you?

©2024 Donna M. Monnig
4-19-2024

NaPoWriMo Day 19 Challenge: “What are you haunted by, or what haunts you? Write a poem responding to this question. Then change the word haunt to hunt.”

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig has published numerous books of poetry including Escaping Destiny, Thoughts on Exhibit, Keeper of the Dead, Take the Leap, and Echoes of Time, as well as the children's book Chasing Ghosts. View more of her work at www.dragonshieldpress.com, www.donnamonnig.com, and her author's page on Amazon.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2024, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts on this?