A Perfect Day by Donna M. Monnig (NaPoWriMo)

A Perfect Day

Sitting in the castle window,
breezes flowing like a melody,
Book, half open on my lap,
notebook open under my pen,
letting the stories escape at last,
out of my mind and onto page.
Places I can only dream come
alive in swirls of ink, dancing
beneath my fingers. Giving life
where before was barren,
sharing my imaginary friends
with the world, relaxed in my
stone fortress, safe from life’s
stormy harbors and jagged
rock and hard place pains.
A knight in shining armor standing
guard at the door, disturb me
not, he will ensure. A sword with
blue bejeweled hilt hangs at the
ready for me to wield, wicked as
any pen, though perhaps, not as
mighty. Content to bask, at least
for a moment, in the peace and
quiet stillness, silence like a
melody playing in the wind – a
song of the high tower. Jealous
perhaps, if only for a moment,
of Rapunzel in her peaceful respite.
A perfect day, writing away, all
the mysterious adventures tilting
at windmills in the deep recesses
of my mind. The ideal life of a
writer, at least, for a day. Or two.

©2024 Donna M. Monnig
4-25-2024
NaPoWriMo Day 25 Challenge: “write a poem based on the “Proust Questionnaire,” a set of questions drawn from Victorian-era parlor games, and adapted by modern interviewers. You could choose to answer the whole questionnaire, and then write a poem based on your answers, answer just a few, or just write a poem that’s based on the questions.”

I chose just a few of the questions like a perfect day, perfect happiness, where you’d like to live, favorite profession, etc.

About Donna M. Monnig

Donna M. Monnig has published numerous books of poetry including Escaping Destiny, Thoughts on Exhibit, Keeper of the Dead, Take the Leap, and Echoes of Time, as well as the children's book Chasing Ghosts. View more of her work at www.dragonshieldpress.com, www.donnamonnig.com, and her author's page on Amazon.
This entry was posted in My Poems, NaPoWriMo 2024, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts on this?